Major Accrediting Agencies That Benefit Your Quest For Higher Education

U.S. Regional Accrediting Agencies

North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (NCA CASI)

The NCA CSI accredits higher education institutions in the states of Michigan, Missouri, Minnesota, Colorado, Arizona, Illinois, Idaho, Iowa, Arkansas, Indiana, Navajo Nation territories, Wyoming, North Dakota, Wisconsin, Ohio, New Mexico, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, and Oklahoma. The organization began in 1895 and regionally oversees 8,500 public and private schools and districts.

Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)

Founded in 1962, WASC is comprised of 3 commissions that have authority of different sectors of education: Accrediting Commission for Schools, Accrediting Commission for Junior and Community Colleges (ACCJC), and the Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities . WASC accredits institutions in California, Hawaii, Northern Marianas, Palau, American Samoa, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Micronesia.

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NCCU)

The NCCU recognizes 162 institutions that are in the states of Washington, Utah, Montana, Alaska, Nevada, Idaho and Oregon. It was established in 1917 and consists of 26 commissions.

Southern Association of Schools and Colleges (SASC)

Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Texas, South Carolina, Kentucky, Florida, Louisiana, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Tennessee, and Latin America have institutions that are all accredited by the SASC. The organization originated in 1895 and currently recognized 13,000 public and private schools.

New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)

Providing accreditation for over 2,000 institutions, the NEASC is an organization that was founded in 1885. The agency reviews schools in Rhode Island, Massachussetts, Vermont, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Maine, Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and Europe.

Middle States Association (MSA)

The MSA is a 124-year-old organization that accredits degree-granting institutions in New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Central America, Europe, and the Middle East.

U.S. National Accrediting Agencies

Distance Education and Training Council (DETC)

The DETC is a nonprofit organization that was born in 1926 and solely approves online schools. The accrediting agency is recognized by both the U.S. Department of Education (USDE) and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).


U.S. Department of Education (USDE). (2011).

Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). (2011).

Subscribe to Our Mailing List